1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suggest me to capture video from my Mini DV Camcorder

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by murali, Aug 5, 2005.

1. murali

murali

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently i have purchased a JVC make GR-D270 digital camcorder. Since i am new to this, i don't know how to capture the video from my camcorder tape to my PC. My PC has the following configuration : P-IV, 1.5Ghz,40GB,Window Xp sp2. I could collect the digital still images from the memory card. But i couldn't do it for video. The manufacture has given a decoding driver software. Unfortunately they have not given any information about how to use it? do i need any additional software? new hardware(already i am having USB2.0 port. is it sufficient?) help me to solve this :lease:

2. Brian110507

Brian110507

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The ONLY way to successfully transfer video from a camcorder to a PC is by firewire - please search these forums for 'firewire' and you will find this same information repeated again and again with instructions on what to do.

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    As Beejaycee has said, the question of how to capture video from a DV camcorder is aksed several times a week, but I'll give some pointers to get you going!

The basic specs of your PC are more than good enough, but you will definately need more disc space as digital video will eat up around 1Gb for every 4 minutes captured, thats around 14Gb per hour :eek: . You then need more space for editing and file conversion.
    You don't mention how much RAM you have, but 512Mb is about the minimum you should have with 1Gb or more recommended.