1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subwoofer's and Floors

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Russell_S, Sep 30, 2003.

1. Russell_S

Russell_S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi all, newbie here

I am looking for a new 5.1 speaker package and am leaning towards the Kef eggs. I don't know yet whether to go for the mk1 or the mk2 model, it all depends on price. However, with the mk1, the subwoofer has a downward firing bass driver and I would have thought that the sound would be effected differently depending on wether the floor underneath was a solid floor or a suspended timber floor. If this is the case, which type of floor is it designed for. I, myself, have a timber floor, amd don't particularly want the ornamants bouncing their way across the coffee table due to the floor vibration.

Also, I know that the sub in the mk2 versoin is different, but in what way. Has this one also got the downward firing driver or is it a completely different design.

Many thanks

2. alfablue

alfablue
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have mounted my Eltax A12 sub on a (black painted) paving slab. I have a wooden floor and there is a basement flat beneath me, my motivation was to try and prevent upsetting the neighbours. I don't really know what effect it has on the sound quality (I guess it would improve it), or even if it helps my neighbour, but it cost £2 and gives me piece of mind.

3. Andywilliams

Andywilliams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi russ
    From what ive read the old sub is a down firing ported sub,The new sub is a sealed sub and front firing and from what owners have said on the forum is much improved on the old model.
    Gonzo.

4. Crustyloafer

Crustyloafer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,236