Subwoofer volume

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by h6oly, Feb 1, 2009.

1. h6oly

h6oly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

I am new to home cinema, so bare with me.
    I have just purchased a Epos ELS sub.
    It sounds excellent.

However, when i turn the volume of my surround amp down the sub stays the same volume. Is this normal?, as it completely drowns out the rest of the speakers.
    I have to reach round the back of the sub and turn the volume on that.
    This seems a pain to do this everytime.

Cheers

2. William YZF-R1

William YZF-R1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +536
    How do you have it connected and what is it connected to?

3. h6oly

h6oly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have it connected to my panasonic all in one surround amp with the aux out into the low level input on the sub.
    I am currently building up my system and I am using this amp while save up for a Sony strda2400es.

Cheers

4. William YZF-R1

William YZF-R1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +536
    I would think the problem lies with Aux Out which is a fixed volume.

How was the original sub connected?

Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  5. h6oly

h6oly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    It was connected to a speaker connection. This has only one positive an negative connection.
    The Epos requires two each.

I take it the new sony 2400es would fix this issue?

6. William YZF-R1

William YZF-R1
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +536
    Its possible that the Epos would work fine with just the one pair of wires connected to a high level In, as a plausible workaround but I am reluctant to suggest this due to my limited knowledge and lack of details (specs) on the Panasonic system.

The 2400ES would definitely fix the issue.

7. h6oly

h6oly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: