1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subwoofer question

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Ayub, Oct 16, 2003.

  1. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +580
    hi, is it possible to use a car Subwoofer 4 ohms as a home cinema woofer ( god knows what ohms i assume 8-16)
     
  2. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Yes, as long as the amplifier can cope with a 4ohm load.
    I am currently running a 12" Sony car sub powered by the amp out of a HC subwoofer which was also 4ohm.
     
  3. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +580
    what about the amp? assuming i can provide a constant 12v supply.
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Do you mean you want to run a car amplifier and subwoofer?
     
  5. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +580
    yeah, reason i ask is i have well lets just say round the £8000 worth of car hi-hi i thought i could "use" bits of it to help me with my hi-fi at home/entertainment system.
     
  6. woosey

    woosey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    to use car hifi in house you must adapt the power source, i did this by modding some computer PSU's, this ran my alpine 7969, JVC 909r, and my JL 300/4. This ran my sub and some mission M50's quite nicely although i did need two

    My advice to you if you really want to use car audio in house is to buy one very expensive psu, look at the amps on the 12V line, if your into your car audio, you should know the rest ;)

    any more help hop over to www.talkaudio.co.uk , i did a peice on how to mod the psu's
     
  7. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    You can certainly do this,but do remember the relative power limitations of most computer PSU'sand their relatively noisy output in terms of Switchmode related RF interference.

    By this I mean that you must ensure that the power demands of your ICE sub amp do not exceed the power supply's output.

    The end result is a bit of a compromise...it will save you money,but the results may not be what you will have expected.
     
  8. woosey

    woosey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    alexs2 mate, there are psu's that can chuck out 42amps @ 12v, two of these and your in business!!! there are £75 each though, but there very quiet too, i have been running PSU's for some time and well, dont knock it till you have tried it ;)
     
  9. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    I'm sure there are...if you read my comments,you'll see that I was advising to keep the amps demands within the power supply's limits.

    You will also note that the noise I was referring to is not audible noise,but RF interference.

    42amps at 12volts equates to approx 500W,easily surpassed by a lot of home cinema sub amps....I know the question was relating to ICE amps BTW.
     
  10. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    You could allways build your own power supply?
     

Share This Page

Loading...