Subwoofer noob, please recommend uber budget, and setup

slim01

TLDR - I am a TOTAL sub noob.
What can you get for around £220?
New or used.

-
Usage:
music is all that really matters really (but about 50% music, 20% movies/tv, 30% gaming).

Speakers:
KEF q550
(58Hz-28kHz)
(old) Q55.2 +upgraded q5 tweeter
(40hz-27khz)
Q6c Centre.
2 kef eggs as rears.

Amp:
onkyo tx-sr508 (90wpc).

Room:
small/med lounge, V-shaped roof (attic conversion).
Neighbours both sides!

---
had amazing KEF q55.2's for 20 years in 5.0 and finally "upgraded" to q550, largely due to cosmetic reasons.

The q55.2 are SO bassy I NEVER felt the need for a sub. They go low but are often boomy (i tried placement, bungs, amp), lacking a tight punch.
I Had a KEF cube once and sold it as didn't feel it added anything apart from complaints.

Could have got q750 (with the same size 6.5" driver as q55.2) but some reviews said the bass was boomier, contesting the exact point of the upgrade, and that q550 or q350 (bookshelves) +sub would "cover a bigger hz range" anyway.

So...
I have some general subwoofer noob questions:
1) down/forward/side fire; does it matter? I want to keep the bass IN the room, so is forward firing best?
2) does size and hz ratings on spec matter: should I be looking to go lower than 40hz on my old kefs, or will say a 10" sub just suck at doing accurate 50 or 55hz house music basslines?
3) is rca y cable best quality?
4) how the hell do I setup the thing? High pass low pass, what crossover setting, phase on or off etc. Feel I need a degree.

Thanks in advance :D

Last edited:

slim01

The new wharfdale sw150 looks tasty at £150, will 10" fill the q550 to q55 gap range ok though? (the 40-60hz)?

---
USED...
£70-£100 REL quake
£150 REL Q150e
£150-£250 REL t-zero

------
NEW...

£120 Yamaha NSSW050
8", forward fire side ported, 28-200hz, 50w no crossover setting
-
£130 Polk Audio PSW10e
-
£149 Wharfdale Diamond sw150
White, 9.8", 35-110hz, 150w rms,
what-hi 5star review

-