1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subwoofer for around £100

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Sandeep, Jul 20, 2002.

1. Sandeep

Sandeep

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to home cinema having just recently managed to experience dolby digital sound from my Philips PW9616 television.

The sound is great but I feel there is still something lacking. I realised that a subwoofer would do the trick. There is a socket for the subwoofer in the back of the tv but I don't know which subwoofer to buy.

Having done some prior research I came up with the following models:

Yamaha YST-SW005 (£93.99) http://www.hifibitz.co.uk/Warehouse/details.asp?ProductID=YAMYSTSW005BK

Sony SA-WM20 (£107.99 in unbeatable.co.uk)
    http://www.sonystyle.com/home/item....461&telesale=null&hidden=null&cps=null&type=s

Aiwa TSW37 (£49.95)
    http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/jsp/makelink.jsp?collection=goforgold&zone=eCometZone

Eltax ATOMIC A10 (£129.95)
    http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/jsp/makelink.jsp?collection=goforgold&zone=eCometZone

Are these any good and will they work with my philips tv?
    Also are there any other websites where these may be cheaper?
    Are there any better models for around £100?

I would greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks

P.S. Here is a link to prove that the tv does have a subwoofer socket. Refer to the bottom of p33.
    http://www2.consumer.philips.com/gl...sets/downloads/en_32pw9615_32pw9616_2_dfu.pdf

2. Dubbing Mixer

Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Sandeep,

Save your £100 and do a lot of reading on this website and in Home Cinema Choice. A sub on its own is not going to give you anything very satisfying. You really need to be thinking about a more holistic solution.

Sorry if this sounds negative but I'm trying to save you money.

3. Sandeep