1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subwoofer - do I really need one?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by RL123, Jan 4, 2003.

1. RL123

RL123

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've just got into home cinema and as I'm a student and still live with my parents, I'm on a very 'humble' setup so to speak.

I've got a decent receiver (Marantz 4200) and some good budget speakers that I've bought from various places.

Anyway my question is: given the size of my room (about 11ft x 10ft give or take) do I really need a subwoofer to 'complete' the system?

I've got my front speakers set up to receive LFE and, after 3 weeks of having the system, have no complaints about 'missing bass'. I've just finished watching Terminator 2 in DTS and certainly have nothing bad to say about the sound.

So is it worth getting a budget sub (£70-100 perhaps) or should I just leave it and stick with what I've got?

There are about 8 or 9 things that I would like to spend that money on (including a new DVD player - using my PS2 at the moment :() so should they be a higher priority for me?

Thanks

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    You have asked two questions and in answer to your first :- "Do I really need a subwoofer" I would answer yes but in answer to your second question, quoted above, the answer is no unless you can find something decent second hand.

Try and listen to a system with and without a sub so that you can see for yourself what a difference it makes but don't waste your money on a cheap boom box as they don't increase the enjoyment of the film experience at all.

3. RL123

RL123

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4