Question Subwoofer Crossover with Marantz PM6004.

RichD

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a Marantz PM6004 amplifier with Pro-Ject Box 5 speakers.

I was considering getting a Wharfedale SW150 subwoofer, or the Wharfedale SPC10.

However, as far as I can tell, the PM6004 does not have a crossover setting, and neither does either of the Wharfedale subwoofers (such as the Kanto Sub-8).

I would be very grateful for any advice or experience. I have never used a subwoofer before.

Thank you very much.

Best wishes.

Rich.

PM6004 is stereo amp and doesn't have dedicated subwoofer pre-out. So, no crossover etc is needed. All settings what you need, are bass and treble buttons.
Because of that, you can't connect active subwoofer properly - you can, if subwoofer has separate speaker connections (these Wharfedales have this connection), but why spend money for extra amplifier?
Cheaper option for stereo systems is to buy PASSIVE subwoofer.

Dear citywalker,

Yes, I see your point. I am confident that the PM6004 would be sufficiently powerful to drive a passive subwoofer. I had noticed that the Wharfedale does have speaker level connection, but then I noticed that there was no crossover setting control on either the amplifier or the speaker, so it made me wonder whether it might result in too much boom.

Can you recommend any passive subwoofers? I will have a browse myself.

Thank you very much for your help. :)

Best wishes.

Rich.

Can you recommend any passive subwoofers? I will have a browse myself.
Sorry, last time for me with passive sub was more than 15 years ago... I'm using receiver and active subs.

You really need a sub with it's own crossover otherwise you will be getting low end voices etc from the sub, if you do get a sub with a crossover, set it to about 50hz and see how it sounds, should sound ok but be prepared to do some fine tuning.

Adam.

Dear Adamgbiggs,

Thank you very much for your response.