Subwoofer 101- I have some questions..

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by baldyman, Jan 4, 2007.

1. baldyman

baldyman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi,
    I'm totally new to subs.. I'll be using the KEF PSw2500 that came bundled with my satellites.

The KEF sub I have has:

High Pass Output L
    High Pass Output R

What do the High pass outputs do?

There are also these:
    Ground In/Out switch
    SLOPE 12db/24db switch

Can someone please explain what the GROUND and SLOPE functions are for and how best to set them? :confused:
    Thanks!

2. Member 96948

Member 96948
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,253
    Basically, I think you can ignore all of these functions. They're all related to using the sub in a two channel setup.

The idea is that your speaker cables go to the sub first and then onto the stereo speakers. The 'High Pass Output' is so called because it only passes the high frequencies to the speakers. The 'Slope' function controls the rate at which the signal crosses over between the sub and speakers. 12dB would provide a 12dB/octave slope for instance. I can't remember how the 'Ground' function works.

Basically none of them effect the inputs you're going to use, so set them to off where possible and other wise ignore.

All you need to do is connect one of the 'Low Level' left or right stereo RCA phono sockets to the Subwoofer (it might be called LFE) output on your AV receiver, turn the 'Crossover' to maximum and then turn up the Low Level Gain until it's loud enough for your taste. Set the crossover frequency in your receivers menus to 120Hz for starters. That should get you up and running. I am assuming you've got Kef KHT-2005 by the way.

Russell

3. Steve.EX

Steve.EX

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +69