1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sub's - are they realy that important ?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Solar, Aug 15, 2004.

1. Solar

Solar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +477
    i have finaly updated my front speakers from an old pair of Warfedale valdus 500's to some nice Eltax symphony 6.3's
    now i cant hear my sub like i used to and to be honest these eltax seem to have a much better sound than the sub and warfedales together.
    i tested the setup with the sub on and off, and it just sounds like a sub is not needed at all.

so before i waste some more money on a better one i want to know, are they realy that important? and do they make that much a difference to watching movies as i wont be using it for music ?
    im no expert when it comes to this stuff so please try and keep answers simple and easy to understand :thumbsup:

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The difference that a decent sub will make - even with hefty floorstanders, is quite enormous in action films where there is a lot of low end stuff.

I thought that my old Tannoy floorstanders were quite meaty until I added a decent sub and I wouldn't be without one now

3. krusty

krusty

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0