1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subs and wooden floors

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by mooky, Sep 3, 2003.

1. mooky

mooky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As i'm in the process of setting up my sub on a wooden floor, i'd be interested in anybody elses experiences/woes with setting up a sub on a wooden floor. Have things like paving slabs under the sub helped and if so how?

Mark.

2. mcmullanbrush

mcmullanbrush
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a wooden floor and my various subs have sounded fine on it, but I am no expert in these matters.

3. rags

rags

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +303
    Same here - have a wooden floor - B&W ASW675 sounds pretty good on it. Have a large rug in the room though (to be honest I cant notice much difference in the sound with or without the rug) No problems whatsoever.

4. graham r j

graham r j

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mooky,
    I had a problem with my Jamo sub (downward firing) on my wooden floor.It tended to sound very hard and metallic, so I put a carpet tile under it and that tamed it, (it also has spikes fitted).
    But the best thing I've tried is two layers of kitchen worktop MDF glued together with long screws thru it to make it spiked to the floor.This has tightened the bass no end and now stops the AV rack resonating, and the telly picture distorting when I give it some welly.
    Hope this helps you as much as it did me.

TTFN

5. mooky

mooky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmmm interesting. I guess my basic worry is that lack of tightness in the bass. I've got a few spare ceramic kitchen tiles from when I did the kitchen. Anybody tried something like this? Are they thick enought for the job?

Mark.

6. Jsinger

Jsinger
    Banned

Products Owned: