SUb woofer power AMP help

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by hornydragon, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  2. Resonance

    Resonance
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
  3. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Hi mate,
    How many of these subs are you running, and where are you likely to put the amplifier for it? Also, will this be in a straight stereo system or with an AV amp or do you need even more flexibility? :)
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    one Polk SUB unit built into cupboard for a surround system (the POLK AMP is silly money so the final solution may be a standalone sub but the built in one can be sent to cabinet maker ahead of time if you get what i mean
     
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    In that case, something like this:
    http://www.dv247.com/invt/17044/
    built into the top or bottom of the cabinet may do the trick. The Polk amp seems to be expensive as it (apparently) provides a lot of power into 4 ohms. I'd seriously consider also adding some kind of crossover network to protect the sub driver and provide installation flexibility.
    http://www.bkelec.com/Modules/asbf.htm
    Unfortunately the BK unit isn't rack mountable but could easily be built into the cabinet in advance. :)
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    do the BK units include the Crossover? The AMP will be run from the LFE out of AV amp (sub preout) so presumably Xover is done in the AV amp?)
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    All of the units on this page:
    http://www.bkelec.com/Modules/Sub_Bass.htm
    do include a crossover.

    The crossover will be done in the AV amp but sometimes it's best to provide an extra layer of protection from meddling hands. If you can get one of those BK modules built into the cabinet it would an excellent and neat solution. If you were to contact them it may even be possible to have it rewired to obtain mains power internally or hard-wired rather than through the IEC inlet. Just a thought anyway.

    If budget allows, the BSBPV500 would be my choice. :)
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    the 500 may be slightly over budget, i need to check a few things out first but thanks for the help john i may well be back for some more!

    Are there any other mono block sub amps on the market? at a reasonable price?
     
  9. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    The 300 would also do the job although obviously there will be less power available.

    The other easy option may be a studio amp like this:
    http://www.dv247.com/invt/17044/
    But you'd be very limited in your control options unless you added a crossover in front of it. Of course that may be a good trade on a limited budget. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...