1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sub Woofer or Bass Shakers ??

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by cosmic023, Apr 9, 2004.

1. cosmic023

cosmic023

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi All,

Well i've been using my AV system without a sub, for a few years now.

But the time to upgrade again has come round, thing is my main speakers can go down to 35hz, so they do have some rumble for a basic LFE effect. So would i get any joy from a sub woofer ??

Or do i go for a pair of bass shakers ?? But then i'd need some kind of amp, as i don't think i'd be able to power 'em from my Marantz amp ??

If i did buy a sub, my budget would be low.....around £250 and would have to buy something like this to sit it on to absorb the vibrations through the floor / walls, as my neighbours have small children.

But then if all i want is the rattle / shake to give the effect of a sub, i could go for these.

What do you lot recomend ??

Choices, Choices.........

Cheers

Cosmic023

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Probably the best buy in your price range is the Mordaunt Short MS309 which is a five star What Hifi winner or slightly over budget at £280 would be the BK Electronics XLS200.

3. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    agreed with Ian, the shakers really should be considered for sub sub bass :D I wouldnt want to use them to fill in frequencies as high as you are talking

ad

4. cosmic023

cosmic023

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi Ian,

What like this one ??

I found the MS sub at Richer Sounds here.....

Thing is would either of these subs be better than just my main speakers without the sub ??

I did notice the MS sub only went down to 35hz, same as my main speakers.