1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sub high level cables

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by cradleoffilth, Jun 10, 2003.

  1. cradleoffilth

    cradleoffilth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the best cable to connect my sub via the high level in? should it be the same as my main speaker cable? thanks:smashin:
     
  2. tvr

    tvr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes, any speaker cable will do the job.
     
  3. cradleoffilth

    cradleoffilth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks, just wondering if there was any particular cable that would work well
     
  4. Crocodile JD

    Crocodile JD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +21
    cradleoffilth

    What does connecting to the high level actually do? Never quite understood it.:confused:

    Crocodile JD
     
  5. cradleoffilth

    cradleoffilth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it uses speaker cable connected to the amp and then into the sub rather than using the pre out. its better because the sub receives the same siganl as your main speakers
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Crocodile JD

    Crocodile JD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tamworth, Staffs
    Ratings:
    +21
    Oh I see what you mean. However, I've got that but I've also got a High pass on the line level as well. That's the bit I don't get. It's the PSW2000 Sub that comes with the Kef eggs. Any Idea?

    Cheers

    Croc
     
  7. wookie

    wookie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sub receives exactly the same signal as low level.
    It is simply attenuated back down to low level pre amp voltage.
    Utter utter crap about "receiving the same signal".
    Only slight issue could be phase irregularities (spetl wrong).:D
     
  8. cradleoffilth

    cradleoffilth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i read it on rel's site so don't blame me :D
     
  9. wookie

    wookie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is just that high level inputs have to be "stepped down" or attenuated back to low level.
    You may as well just run the sub from a pre amp or av sub out.
    The only use (as far as I am concerned) for high level inputs is if they have a high pass filter to allow use of sats/standmounts with a sub and acheive easy integration. (Sub uses what it can and speakers fed a clean filtered signal).


    yyyaarrrrgghhhhh

    We're caught in a tractor beam chewy...................
     
  10. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    High level is also useful if your amp doesn't have a low level out - like my Rotel
     

Share This Page

Loading...