Sub cable - Is quality important?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Ian Carter, May 13, 2004.

  1. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Having just purchased the MS309 I am wondering how important the quality of sub cable is. I currently have it connected via a 5m version of the free phono leads they supply with most electrical equipment.

    Now I don't want to spend a fortune but would a 'non-Free' interconnect serve me better?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The freebie bell wire connectors are of very poor quality and an upgrade should bring sonic improvements.

    Mark Grant makes and sells an excellent subwoofer cable and a 5m version would cost you £41 via the Powerbuy forum as opposed to many times that for the equivalent quality in the shops.

    Have a look at the special prices being offered to forum members here
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Or of course you can make your own.... but to answer the question, a quality cable does matter for the sub

    ad
     
  4. Cmoth

    Cmoth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    Subwoofer cable quality should be treated the same as interconnects. The difference should become apparent. You may have seen i have one for sale at mo, QED, about 4 metres, is that long enough or do you need 5m the same as you have at the mo ?

    Colin
     
  5. Ian Carter

    Ian Carter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, Wilts
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the replies. I spotted your cable and thats what prompted the question TBH. I'll need to measure up but I don't think 4m is going to be long enough. If it is though I'll have it, provided its not already been sold by then.
     
  6. Spearmint

    Spearmint
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For DIY I always use RG6 Quad Shield Coax, crimp F-Type connectors on each end then use F-Type to RCA adaptors.

    This solution provides a hum free installation. (Provided there are no earth loops of course, I mean from induced AC sources)
     
  7. elcid

    elcid
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  8. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly the problem I had with a home made cable from what I'd describe as above-average components. Of course, my soldering could have been :eek: - but from what I could tell, it seemed fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice