1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sub Amp Panel

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by ReTrO, Jan 9, 2003.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I'm looking for a sub amp panel to complete my DIY sub.

    I'm using a JL Audio 10W3 D4 that I got from work a while which will be in a approx 1 cubic foot enclosure, when it's been transfered to it's new box.

    I've been running it off an Arcam P75 for a while.

    Recommendations, upto around £150 max please.

    Cheers guys.
     
  2. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.bkelec.com/ do them(under modules),200watts for £150. ive used there power amp modules and in over 10 years i aint had any proplem with them.
     
  3. GaryG

    GaryG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +2
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Seen it now. Don't really think I need it until Easter hols time though.

    Very tempting.
     
  5. BK Electronics

    BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    If you ask BK nicely they can get you the DT300 for £140
     
  6. GaryG

    GaryG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    744
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Interesting...

    Here's the email I had back in July from RCM when I enquired about the price of the DT300.

    About £217 in real money, at £140 I would snatch their hands off sharpish.
     
  7. BK Electronics

    BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +25
    The DT300 is actually £155.10 but BK are doing a 10% off deal when buying their BX10 speakers. The link is http://www.bkelec.com/diy/DT300.htm

    This neans you can buy the panel a 300W 10" loudspeaker and matching passive radiator have it delivered for the price of the panel from germany!!
     
  8. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ooops - I think they have the price of the DT150 wrong - it's showing as the same as the 300, but the price with drive unit is £133. Looks rather tasty, though - wonder if I might go for one of these rather than the bog standard BK mosfet modules....
     
  9. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right, stooopid question time for anyone with experience of these DT modules.
    With the bass compensation, how does this work - say you add +6Db at 30Hz, how wide a frequency range will it boost? Obviously the last thing you want is a huge hump between 32Hz and 28 Hz.
    Say, for example, that the plot for my speaker design starts to roll off at 60Hz, is at -3Db at 38Hz, and -6Db at 30Hz. What will the compensation do to that?
    Also, it says on the PDF that the dip switches are inside the module - I assume you don't have to remove the module from the enclosure to get at them, though, or it would be a pain getting it set up.
     
  10. dnrc

    dnrc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try CPC @ www.cpc.co.uk they have a sub amp for £85 which is 250 watt.

    Code: LS01562
     
  11. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    You missed a 6 off the code - LS0156266 - looks interesting. Wonder who makes it....

    I presume that price is plus VAT and delivery....
     
  12. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cpc dont charge for delivery on orders over £30.the olny sub pannels i could find in ther catouloge is made by number one,never heard of them
     
  13. dnrc

    dnrc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't leave anything off, that's the code straight out of the catalogue.

    Anyway, that price is excluding VAT, but delivery is free.

    It's actually the same as the Parts Express Amp, which gets good reviews etc.

    Check This link:

    http://www.partsexpress.com/pdf/300-794.pdf
     
  14. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry,. not trying to have a pop. I tried the number you quoted, and found nothing, then searched for sub amps, and found it under the part number I quoted. Maybe they're busy altering their part numbers....
     
  15. dnrc

    dnrc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +0
    Strange, that's the number out of the 2003 catalogue, but anyhow, i'm considering one myself.

    Gonna buy some MDF today or tomorrow, whack together a box and chuck one of these and a 12" driver in it. Should be cool (I hope)
     
  16. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    i have a 12 inch lightning audio sub in a box, im currently looking for a decent panel for that and was actually looking at the dt-150 for mine. looks pretty good for £108 inc delivery.
     
  17. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    James: what did you get in the end?

    I have a DT110 for my JL 10W3 D4 being used in the DIY sub project, and I'm looking at a DT300 for use with my Adire Audio Tempest 15" project later in the summer time.
     
  18. X3ELS

    X3ELS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +105
    Just out of interest why are you guys looking to buy one of these dedicated sub modules??

    I have built many subs in the past and always used BK modules (just the modules not the BSB ones) they are miles cheaper and if you are happy to wire them up (Safely) then these are perfect.

    Assuming of course you are only using them for AV all you need is a direct input into the module as the AV processor deals with crossovers and level control. This way you have a far cleaner signal path tons of power and all at stupidly cheap prices.

    They actually make good power amps to if anyone wants to build a stereo one :)

    Cheers

    Elliot
     
  19. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The main reason is for ease of use and resale options. I reckon it'll be easier to potentially sell it on if it's easier for somone less technical to use.

    Cheers anyhoo.

    PS Nice pics!:smashin:
     
  20. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    really? hmmm. any links where i can see some of these bk modules? im more than happy with building the modules and if it saves me money then thats just dandy:D
     
  21. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  22. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
  23. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Looks like you'll need an IEC power input socket and phono inputs. I'd guess maybe sort sort of volume control would be nice, but not really needed.
     
  24. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    Id use one all-the same. if theres ever a time that i power that amp with a non-fading input, i want to be able to turn it down lol
     
  25. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I'm pretty tempetd by these now. Best thing is I could get one for a start and then add a second after if I wanted to, to drive the twin voice coils seperately.

    I'm just trying to think how to mount them inside the sub, and also what to do for a volume control. Any ideas on what to do for an input, volume control and power back panel? It'd only have to be small, but a nice bit of sheet steel with a few holes in would be cool.
     
  26. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Retro, if I was interested in a subwoofer, would you build me one?- just the cabinet- I'll give you info on what driver type I want, amp module etc..

    I'll fit the driver and amp module myself.
     
  27. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I could design one on paper for you, but I leave all the cutting of parts to Taz as he can get it all done profesionally at work. Sadly I don't have the capability to veneer and machine MDF perfectly at home.

    Wish I did!:D

    If you need any ideas or help with design just ask though.
     
  28. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've emailed them for a suggestion on a pot for using as a volume control.

    It's something I should really be able to work out though.:D
     
  29. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    yes i should to, but hey! if someone else will do it then why stop them?
     
  30. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Hows your sub project going James?

    Have you got any design pics or actual pics?

    Sadly I can't check my mail at the moment to see when they reply as Tiscali seems to have balls up at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...