1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stupid XBL and the Killtacular pack

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by gtg60, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    For quite a while now I've been using one XBL account on two X-Box's (one at my place, one at the girlfriends), so last night I decided to download the Killtacular pack.
    My plan today was to move the maps to my other Xbox via memory card or perhaps download them again, I rang the XBL support number and was told that I can't do it, that the downloads are serial number specific and that I'll have to pay for them again (I won't out of principle).

    So it looks like I'm back to the old days of lugging my Xbox to and from the girlfriends, what a pain :mad:
    Just wondering if anybody has managed to do it? I'm hoping I was spoofed...

    Keith
     
  2. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,514
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Unfortunately, this has always been the way with content downloads. They are Xbox specific and not Gamertag specific. It's a bit cheeky if you ask me, but I guess its done to stop you downloading the maps to a mate's Xbox using your Gamertag. AFAIK there is no way around it.
     
  3. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    Pointless post #1148

    Lorenzini speaketh the thruth.
     
  4. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Ah well, you (XB)Live and learn, I didn't really want to believe them as I thought somebody might have known a way around it, looks like I'll be lugging one XBox to and fro until June 28th :oops:

    Thanks for the quick replies though!

    Keith
     
  5. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I totally agree. Its designed to stop people abusing the system. Lets be honest these maps are so good they are worth paying £2.99 for. If people dont buy them they wont release expansions and I dont want that to happen as it gives the game a new life.

    There is a way round it but it requires the XB to be modded and I wont be sharing where to source the maps.
     
  6. nero0410

    nero0410
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    southwest
    Ratings:
    +4,346
    So what happens if your xbox ever breaks down and goe's off for repair?

    I have had this concern when first using live and downloading content. As 9 times out of 10 if you send a console off for repair, you end up with a refurbished unit. I have in the past

    Does that mean that someone else can use your accout too?

    tris
     
  7. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Well they would wipe your account. I guess you can ask them to repair your unit or swap out the HD. My Xbox is over three years old so its no issue for me.
     
  8. nero0410

    nero0410
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    southwest
    Ratings:
    +4,346
    My xobx is 2 and a half years old, I was just a bit worried.

    Thanks though, didnt think about them being able to swap the hdd out. You put my mind at ease:)

    tris
     
  9. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    I'm pretty sure you can 'recover' your account form the XBox dashboard anyway...

    Keith
     
  10. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    you can 'recover' your account, but thats all you can do, you still won't get back any premium downladed content.
     
  11. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I would just like to make it clear if you have a modded box you can restore the content if your HD fails. I`m not going to explain how to do it but it can be done for those with experience if you feel strongly about it.

    I dont really understand what the issue is with all this to be honest.....It really is not a big deal. Why. the majority f content is free anyway so you can just download it again. That which is not free (Like the extra Halo 2 maps) bbecomes free some months down the line.

    People worry too much :rolleyes:
     
  12. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,514
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    People like me with 2 Xboxes have to pay twice for the same content (my one downstairs runs in Hidef, but is only available when the better half isn't watching tv). I feel I've paid out for the maps now, and I should be able to play them on either of my machines (I use the same Gamertag on both Xboxes). I know I'm not the only one that has this problem.

    I'm not stressed about it, just feel it's something that could be got around if MS wanted to. But they don't. It's just another thing that because I'm legit and not chipped I've lost out on, where modded boxes have extra capabilities. Oh well *shrugs shoulders*
     

Share This Page

Loading...