Stupid Question

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by phardy, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    Don't know much about PC gaming but bought Supreme Commander 2 off ebay for £1 for my son. Bargain I thought but when it asks for the registration code it says it has already been registered on another steam account. How can I get the game registered? Can it just not be played against the computer? Does it have to be registered on steam?
     
  2. Houghsx

    Houghsx
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    City 17
    Ratings:
    +3,343
    Out of luck I'm afraid. Once a game is associated to a steam account it can only be played by that account, luckily it was only a quid.
     
  3. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    You have to watch for people trying to re-sell titles - The vast majority of games these days come with CD-Keys (serial keys), and they have to be registered on a digital distribution platform (Steam, Origin, Games for Windows Live). Once that is done, it's nigh impossible to get the game on your account. You really have to buy 'New', to be guaranteed a working title.

    You should contact Steam and demand that it be transferred to your sons account. But for the sake of a couple of quid, I wouldn't bother. Have a look below:

    Supreme Commander 2 PC | Zavvi.com

    There it is new, for £5.95, with free shipping :D

    I urge you to stick around and keep an eye on the Game Bargains thread, you might run across a couple of (very cheap) gems :D

    Just to be sure that the machine is capable of certain titles, what kind of spec does your kids machine have? Download this handy little tool - Piriform Speccy

    All you need to do is download it, run it, highlight the 'Summary' page, copy it then paste the results in here.

    It's useful to know what hardware is inside the rig, especially before you go and buy titles that your hardware cannot run!
     
  4. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for the replies. I thought you only needed keys for online gaming as more of a ps3 gamer. My son also uses mainly his PS3 but wanted this game as he played it at a mates but its not on available on ps3. Was going to try and run it on my laptop, not very high spec as only use it for email, web, etc. Have attached the summary below, will it be good enough? Have another couple of laptops could look at if not.

    Operating System
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

    CPU
    Intel Pentium P6200 @ 2.13GHz 31 °C
    Arrandale 32nm Technology

    RAM
    3.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 532MHz (7-7-7-20)

    Motherboard
    eMachines HM55_CP (CPU) 32 °C

    Graphics
    Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected])
    Intel(R) HD Graphics

    Hard Drives
    244GB Western Digital WDC WD2500BEVT-22A23T0 (SATA) 32 °C

    Optical Drives
    Optiarc DVD RW AD-7585H

    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio
     
  5. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,117
    Would be surprised if that would run SupCom2, it is fairly graphically intensive in the big huge battles, also the CPU is a bit weak. You might be able to squeeze out some FPS at really low settings.

    I would contact the Ebay seller and get a refund, they are not allowed to sell the software second hand. No point demanding anything with STEAM, buying second hand is not within the licence agreement for the game. You have to remember that any software is under licence, the physical discs are not worth anything. You do not "own" software, you "own" the right to use it, not to sell it on.
     
  6. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Fife
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    Methinks that laptop will struggle to run Supreme Commander.

    RTS games are heavy on the AI, which means they are heavy on the CPU... Not only that but SupCom is heavy on the graphics too.

    Have you ever thought about investing in a cheeky little gaming rig? Or HTPC? :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice