1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Student on a tight budget (relative)

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Rupert2, Apr 21, 2005.

1. Rupert2

Rupert2
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, looking to spend £400-£500 on a hifi system --

• 2 Speakers
    • Amplifier
    • CD player
    • Wires etc

I'd prefer quality over a loud sound as my neighbours would probably appreciate. I'm fairly new to all this stuff so the only place I really know to buy from is Richer Sounds (such is the case with many people) so if you have any other places you could recommend that would be great as well. Are there any special wiring techniques I should use when setting up?

I've done a bit of research and was going to go for Gale 3030 speakers but apparently they're rubbish. The Cambridge Audio A5 looks good as well but I really don't know... Google just comes up with KELKOO stuff.

Cheers
    Rupert

2. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    Hi Rupert
    I've acquired much of my equipment whilst a student and would thoroughly recommend the second hand market. Ebay is OK and good for research but TBH you can't really beat the classifieds on this forum as it's reasonably safe, reasonably priced and you can be reasonably sure that the equipment has been well looked after. If you could actually specify a budget then I'm sure people would be able to come up with some options for you to look into.

As far as cables go then I wouldn't worry too much as long as you get some that look reasonably well made. I would recommend the DIY route, there are plenty of threads in the DIY and cabling sections that you might like to read.

A good tip for google is to type "-ebay -kelkoo" (without the quote but with any other side you don't want searched) after your keywords in the search field. :)