Question Struggling to understand streaming

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by Tim_Field, Aug 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Tim_Field

Tim_Field
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi all,

I have a Marantz 8802a on the way and I'm a total newbe when it comes to the latest stuff. I'd like to run DSD / high quality streaming from a supplier like Tidal into the preamp. I'm unclear what hardware will give the best sound quality. I don't want the streaming service downsampled or badly upsampled by a player.

Which streaming service would you recommend (UK), and which streamer (within a sensible price range)? Are there any DSD streams yet? Please treat me as an absolute beginner in this area, I've not done this before!

Thanks, Tim

2. Tim_Field

Tim_Field
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Not sure why this has moved as it's a question about music but hopefully I'll get an answer ! Cheers

3. mark363

mark363
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Both Tidal and Qobuz offer 16bit/44khz (CD quality) streaming at £19.99 a month. I'm not aware of any of the major providers offering DSD. Both of these offer hi-rez streaming, Tidal though it's Masters (MQA) and Qobuz though the purchase of it's Sublime+ account (£349 a year).

If you had something like the Blusound Node 2 that woud give you access to both of these and you'd be able to decode and render the Tidal MQA. You can also access Spotify (who are moving towads 16bit/44khz streaming) and a host of internet radio platforms.

4. Tim_Field

Tim_Field
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have a load of CD's at home, so none of the providers are above that bit rate?

Doesn't seem worth it if that's the case.

Thanks for the info.

5. mark363

mark363
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11