Streaming TV setup

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Begadoc, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Begadoc

Begadoc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Never having considered streaming TV setup before I have very little knowledge of what I need in the way of equipment.
    What I have
    Panasonic TV - TX-L23V10B
    Sky + HD box (and full program subscription plus HD)
    Sky Wireless Connector box
    Panasonic DVD Player - DMR EX88 (Which has a fault so needs replacing)
    Broadband speed ~75Mb/sec

I would like to retain access to some Sky channels - mainly the BBC and ITV ones mainly for drama, plus history, archaeology, Eurosport, and documentaries. Films as well but not a film buff - maybe one or two a week!

Motivation is primarily to get access to some streamed programmes, not to reduce costs.

So three questions.
    What is the best way to retain (or is it possible to retain) the range of program I currently enjoy but not at Sky prices?
    What equipment do I need to buy (including DVD player replacement).
    Can I retain existing TV.

Many thanks.

2. mike7

mike7

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +618
    I've searched Panasonic TX-L23V10B and cannot find it on Google. Is it really a 23" set? If so there is no point in paying for HD.

If you have an external TV aerial then you are going to get BBC,ITV,C4,C5 channels anyway, and in HD if required. If you want, some of, the recording facilities that you have with Sky then consider a PVR box such as one manufactured by Humax. This will also enable you to stream recent programmes that you might have missed.

What you need is a some kind of streaming service. This can be incorporated in a new SMART TV or a DVD/Blu Ray player. If you have a spare HDMI socket on your existing TV then you could make it 'Smart' by plugging in an Amazon Fire TV stick.