Streamers vs streaming

Old novice

Novice Member
Reaction score
I am no techie so half the current names and TLAs are new to me. I've recently decide to upgrade my old Arcam AVR to new Linn kit which has HDMI inputs. I have some music on iTunes on my MacBook that I've been playing via phono conns but sound is not hi-fi. I've been looking at moving the iTunes library to a 'streamer'. Looked at suggestions of using a Mini Mac, Raspberry pi with associated DAC and other gismos. But then learned that I could upload everything to PLEX and listen via my Roku stick through my new amp. So - here's the question, Why do they still sell music streamers [hardware] and why are people still building their own? What am I missing?

So you could go anywhere from £30 - £30,000 as it always is the wonderful world of Hi-Fi.

My view it's about matching and what you want from what you purchase. So you could get a HHD, connect to a PC / MAC and install PLEX and listen to it, right? But do you want music room listening or do you want casual listening?

My personal experience I've gone for a music room, full fat speakers, AMP, DAC and streamer (~£5k) AND yes it could be replaced by a £30 chromecast but hey.

I originally started with a chromecast audio, then I went the build your own route, with a pi, a dac and a touch screen. The screen allows anyone to control it, whilst saves having to use a phone or tv to see what I want to play, whilst also allowing me to see album art, play status, and even vu meters. Basically, it gave me what I wanted without costing a fortune.

My music is on a NAS, which is on 24/7, so if I want music I just switch my pi on and turn on my amp, all nice and easy.