Streamer with digital out

bernhard

Novice Member
I am contemplating a purchase of new active speakers, which means I may need a streaming device.
I am new to music streamers (my Marantz has Spotify integrated and a number of speakers in my house have streaming services integrated too).

Now I would only need the digital output of the streamer. That would mean I do not need the any DAC, correct?
I can see that there are numerous streamers (with good reviews) costing hundreds and thousands of pounds.
So assuming I find a device that supports the services that I need (Spotify, Tidal, xyz), what would I be missing with a cheap device compared to the more expensive devices?
I can see several cheap solutions that seem to fit my use case.
Raspberry Pi, Teufel Connector, Xiaomi Mi Box

For instance, the Teufel device plays numerous lossless codecs (it seems MQA is not on the list).
So how come the vast majority of reviews and recommendations are for much more expensive devices?
Is it because most people need a 'good' DAC?

jamieu

I am contemplating a purchase of new active speakers, which means I may need a streaming device.
I am new to music streamers (my Marantz has Spotify integrated and a number of speakers in my house have streaming services integrated too).

Now I would only need the digital output of the streamer. That would mean I do not need the any DAC, correct?

Not necessarily, it depends if your speaker have a USB (DAC) or digital S/PDIF input.
  • USB input (this has to be one that is a DAC input ie. can play music via it form a PC) and you can use a vanilla Raspberry Pi with most of the RPi audio OS's Volumio, Moode, PiCorePlayer, RoopieXL, HiFiBerryOS etc. (that's all you need)
  • If you only have a S/PDIF input you need a Digi HAT + one of the above audio OSs
  • If you only have analog RCA inputs you'll need a DAC HAT (to convert the digital signal to an analog RCA output) + one of the above audio OS.