STRDN1080 or YAMAHA RXV6A for existing speaker setup

jimjam57

Novice Member
Hi

I'm new to home theatre setups and was hoping for some advice.

The place we have just moved into has existing speakers (all in the roof) in the below configuration
- couch is the lines on the left of the setup
-TV / Projector (Sony X9500G / a 1080P BenQ projector) is lines on the right
- o's are 6.5" Studio Acoustics SA360A 80watt / 8ohm
-0's are 8" Studio Acoustics SA380A 120watt / 8ohm

Guessing the position of the couch relative to the speakers is suboptimal but is what is is...

0 o
o| T|
o| V|
0 o

I have been looking at AV receivers and am out of my depth - I was thinking either the Sony STRDN1080 or the Yamaha RX-V6A - both about $1k currently in Aus but am open to recommendations based on the setup etc... Guessing I also need to pick up a sub and centre speaker as there are none currently.

Also any recommendations on how to plug it all in would be appreciated... We have an Xbox One X which we'd like to switch between the TV and projector, but most viewing is streaming services direct through the TV...

jimjam57

Novice Member
Adding photo of setup as my attempt with lines and 0o didn't really work ...
PXL_20210523_111344324.jpg

gibbsy

Welcome to the Forum.

Sorry but your oI et al makes no sense. Can you cost a diagram with the screen position and the listening seating.

Are you keeping the speakers in the ceiling? If so it really doesn't matter what AV amp you go for as the impact on the audio will be negligible as ceiling speakers are a life style choice and not really conducive to good audio.

I wouldn't bother with a centre speakers if the left and right are going to remain in the ceiling. It could in fact make a poor arrangement sound even worse.

Sorry to be so blunt.

gibbsy