1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

STRDB1080 6.1 decode question

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by sonny, Apr 6, 2003.

  1. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    If you are familiar with the method of 6.1 decoding used on the 1080 you will know what I mean with this query.
    There are 3 options, first is 6.1 decoding 'off' so there will be no surround back decoding, second is 'matrix' which will convert a 5.1 into a sort of pseudo 6.1 surround and so activate the surround back (SB DEC) indicator. Third is 'auto' which uses the 6.1 'flag' encoded on a dvd that has either Dolby Digital EX or DTS ES. I have tried both Phantom Menace and Attack Of The Clones which are supposed to be in DD EX and the 1080 should be set to 'auto' to detect the 'flag' thus activating the appropriate decoder. However, SD DEC remained unactivated on both so I had to manually switch to 'matrix'.
    I have yet to try RI Gladiator, R1 Blade 2, R1 Terminator 2 which all have DTS ES discrete 6.1 but surely the above two should have the 'flag' encoded. Does anyone have any experience with this?:confused:
     
  2. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    im sure ive read somewhere that the 'flag' isnt encoded onto
    all 6.1 dvd's.
    therefore u need to manually select surround back.
    i think the 'flag' has only been incorporated relatively recently
    into the manufacture of dvd's.

    ive havnt looked but i think my 'attack of the clones'
    didnt highlight a detected flag either. indicating
    the above.


    Brian.
     
  3. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for the rapid res[ponse briandzo.
    I would have thought with a release as recent and as well known as ATOTC would have had the 'flag'.
     
  4. pingtuk

    pingtuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've experienced the same thing with my 1080 too.

    DTS ES titles will ouput 6.1 fine with the decoding set to auto. I tried A.I and Attack of the clones for the DD EX titles and had to manually select the matrix option for the rear back speaker to output.

    Hopefully they've fixed this for DD EX titles.
     
  5. sonny

    sonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire.
    Ratings:
    +16
    You are quite correct, as I have now tried all my DTS ES 6.1 discrete titles and they output fine on the 'auto' setting, it is just the DD EX titles that have to be manually selected.
     
  6. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Dolby dropped their flag after some problems and are working on a solution, according to the web site. There's nothing wrong with your Sony it's the DD EX discs that aren't flagged.
     
  7. DanAshmoreUK

    DanAshmoreUK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey lol i posted exactly the same topic about a month ago, and its true about the DD ex discs u have to switch to matrix each time:(
    well anyway its still an AMAZING RECEIVER right:D
     
  8. DanAshmoreUK

    DanAshmoreUK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A question though do u have to swith to this on all SONY receivers??? What about the 555es?
    ---Ashmore---
     
  9. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Unless there's another way to derive this from the metadata i'd expect all amps not to switch automatically until Dolby get their act together. My 2011 operates as per the Sony.
     
  10. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    yamaha 630 & pioneer 811 have to be switched manually (or fixed to 6.1 permanently) to pick up dd ex - it is a universal problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...