Strange things happening with Flickr

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by snerkler, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    I've just been browsing some old photos and when I've clicked the thumbnail it's opened up a totally random picture. It's happened twice so far, first one was when I clicked onto one of my legoman pics it brought up a table with a menu on, and the second one was a portrait and when I clicked on it it brought up a pic from a women's hockey match.

    Whilst at first I didn't think much of it I then started to think how many of my photos are ending up in others' accounts? A quick google shows me that it's not an isolated case. Pretty worrying IMO, especially if your photo gets replaced with something explicit, and I also don't want other people having my pics. I'm wondering if it's anything to do with their security breach? I've only noticed it on the app but will check tomorrow if it's the same online.

    Has anyone else noticed this?
     
  2. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,716
    Nope - is it just new uploads ?
     
  3. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    Did you read the first line of my post? :p

    Here's an example. Here's the thumbnails, if I click the photo with the arrow I get the table/restaurant photo below. This is on the website, so it's both on the app and online. Weird thing is it's not just this one, online the portrait shows the right photo.

    Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 07.31.27.png

    Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 07.31.37.png
     
  4. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    Does anyone know how to contact flickr/yahoo directly? When I go into help>contact us no matter which option I click the only option is help links or to post on the community, no email contact or online form to fill in.
     
  5. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    I did a search on your profile for 'lego' and it brought up 4 of your lego figures with a black background - all seemed to load the correct image for me.

    Although i couldn't find the exact image you posted above (only flicked back about 4 pages)

    To contact Flickr (tested on desktop):
    Click your icon in the top right
    The press Help
    Then there should be a 'contact us' in the left hand side.

    Depending on the subject you select depends on what level of support they offer.

    You may need to put it through as a 'billing' > 'my issue doesn't appear' option to get the email support option.

    Although not sure how helpful they will be in this department if it's not a specific billing question.

    Failing that try contacting via their social media.
     
  6. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,716
    Yes ;) - though for some reason I read "browse" as "uploading":facepalm: - will go back in time on my timeline and see what happens - is it only when browsing via the Camera Roll feature ?
     
  7. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,716
    :devil:
     
  8. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    I went into albums then looked from there.
     
  9. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    Thanks, I actually found a way to email earlier using the method you said, ie going through all the different options until one came up with an email contact :smashin:

    Edit: I only post a selection of my images in my photostream, that lego one is private hence why it's not showing :smashin:
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  10. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,716
    I've tried a good few older shots at random via various routes now and not seeing any issues...
     
  11. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    To be fair, I've got thousands of images uploaded to flickr and so far only stumbled across two so it is a bit like a needle in a haystack o_O
     
  12. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    75,774
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +25,716
    Agree :)
     
  13. rancidpunk

    rancidpunk
    In Memoriam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,964
    I had this a week or so ago, via the app, but put it down to a temporary glitch. I can't remember which picture it was but it opened up fine when I tried it on the full site
     
  14. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    I emailed yahoo about this issue and this is their response


    "Thank you for contacting Yahoo. I want to apologize for any inconvenience this issue has caused you.

    Yahoo proudly offers help channels where you can find answers to many of your technical questions. While direct support for your issue isn't available, there are several places to go for help:

    Yahoo Help Central - A self-help guide to all of your favorite Yahoo products where you can find troubleshooting steps, how-to articles, and general information.

    Yahoo Help Community Forum - A forum to search for and ask questions about specific Yahoo products.

    Social Media - Find us on Facebook or Twitter.

    Please be aware that while there are some fraudulent sites online that charge for Yahoo support; they're not to be trusted! Yahoo help is always free.

    I hope that the information provided will help isolating your query, and thank you again for contacting Yahoo"




    To say that it's extremely poor is an understatement :mad:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  15. mvf4

    mvf4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +389
  16. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
  17. RajP

    RajP
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Northwood
    Ratings:
    +2,089
    You can say that again and again and again.. though, I found tweeting to Flickr Help account was much quicker.. yahoo customer care is completely useless..
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  18. Qactuar

    Qactuar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +9,547
    Obvious question...have you cleared your cookies for Flickr and tried again?
     
  19. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    Not on the computer, but I have on the app. In fact I deleted the app completely and then reinstalled it.
     
  20. Peakoverload

    Peakoverload
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +198
    Also have you tried clearing your browser cache and trying from a different ISP in case their cache is corrupt?
     
  21. Qactuar

    Qactuar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +9,547
    And you get the same behaviour on the desktop? Sounds like a database issue to me if so, and it can be repeated on multiple platforms.

    Don't hold your breath for a fix!
     
  22. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    On the laptop it's only one pic that's changed, on the app it's the same picture plus another.
     
  23. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    Dunno how to do that :blush:
     
  24. Peakoverload

    Peakoverload
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +198
    If you have a mobile device are you using your wi-fi to access the web or are you using it's built in 3G/4G? If the latter just turn off Wi-Fi on the device and then you'll be using your mobile provider. You may still need to clear the cache on the browser on your mobile device though.

    I'm not saying it is a cache issue but I have seem the same thing happen when I've been building websites and I've replaced an image with something else of the same name. Because the original image is in my browsers cache it just keeps showing the old image until I either force a refresh or clear the cache.
     
  25. Qactuar

    Qactuar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +9,547
    Ctrl+F5 on a webpage will force a refresh at least. Worth a try - forces a cache refresh.
     
  26. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,084
    OK so I've checked on the laptop and images are all back to normal, not done any cache deleting. Odd. Not checked the iphone app yet.
     
  27. Qactuar

    Qactuar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    15,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +9,547
    Suggests database error really. Can't see any other good reason for it. I get it on Amazon sometimes - click a photo from reviewer and it opens a different one. No biggie.
     
  28. tapzilla2k

    tapzilla2k
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,622
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +2,848
    Flickr have most likely been tinkering with the code again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...