1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange Sky Installation...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Multiplex, Sep 2, 2004.

1. Multiplex

Multiplex

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm moving into a new house...and was wondering if there would be any drawbacks in installing Sky+ in the shed...and then using video senders to transmit the signal to my living room?

It would save on lots of cable routing and would make one less box under the TV!

I've never used video senders before...would the picture and sound be unacceptable? Maybe this is a dumb idea....but i'd like to know :)

Simon.

2. vicbarry

vicbarry

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have a pair of One for All Video Senders going from my Sky box downstairs to the bedroom upstairs. They also have an LED that you stick onto the sky box (or whatever) to control it. Works like a dream. PQ is as good as downstairs (from what I can see).

Not sure about going from a garden shed..Depends on the distance. But you wont be able to transmit Dolby Digital from your Sky + box using these senders. Maybe dig up the garden and lay a length of cable ;)

3. AV Junky

AV Junky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
    Don't forget that the picture would be composite-only. Fine for a small TV in a bedroom, but get to 28" and above and the flaws start to show. Would also loose widescreen switching, if that's an issue for you.

4. Roohster

Roohster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +908
    Another consideration is damp/condensation.
    Unless your shed is well insulated, this may cause problems - I certainly wouldn't want to store ANY a/v equipment in my shed!

5. Fernsehman

Fernsehman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0