1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange flashing on Pio 435

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by tungchung, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. tungchung

    tungchung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if this is a common thing or something you guys have come across, but now and again I see a very slight flash(light & dark) on the screen. It happens only for a split second and tends be on bright scenes. I'm seeing it more now as I'm constantly looking out for it. At first I thought it maybe a bad mains feed, but have recently bought isol-8 mains filter with leads, which didn't solve it. I doubt it's my connections as I've checked them and use decent cables, besides it happens on DTV and DVDs.
     
  2. atko

    atko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    i also get it on my lgpx11 not sure what causes it.
     
  3. moopa

    moopa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder, have you tried switching all the pro adjust stuff off such as DRE which dynamically changes contrast?

    I would try switching all the NR stuff and see if you still get it.
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    tungchung,

    I suspect moopa is right. Can you confirm whether you still see the flashes even with all the fancy processing switched off in the Pro Adjust menu?
     
  5. tungchung

    tungchung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Both

    Yes have tried with all pro adjustments off, but still get it from time to time. Originally had DRE set to low to run the screen in but didn't notice the flashes then. Since clocking up over 150 hours have calibrated(With DRE off) using DVE, this was when I started to notice the ocassional flashes.
    Have even tried lowering brightness/contrast a little with all Pro adjusts off but still no joy.

    Cheers

    Tung
     
  6. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Have you tried turning the energy saving mode to off?

    Si
     
  7. laustin956

    laustin956
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thick you have got the energy save mode on when it's bright it will dim
     
  8. tungchung

    tungchung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, think energy save mode is on. Will test it out when I'm home and let you guys know how I get on.

    Cheers

    Tung
     
  9. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see the same on my 434 at times, esp on the blue screen when switching between inputs.

    Nothing much to worry about IMO
     
  10. oliverlim

    oliverlim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    This happens when you use the ADV deinterlacing option. Switch it to Standard and the flashes will be gone. It happens as the PIO in ADV mode trys to do 3:3 at 72hz but sometimes loses the frame and one blank frame followed by the next frame and you see a flash.

    Try it out and see.

    Oliver
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    did you get it fixed tungchung?
     

Share This Page

Loading...