1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange E85 Behaviour

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bigsby, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Recorded Alias last night on my E85 from a standard sky digital box. I do not have an arial connected to the machine.

    Went to check the recording this morning and found that it had been titled! Now I was aware the machine could do this from an RF source, but where does it get the title from on an RGB source? And why hasn't it happened in the 8 months odd that I've had the E85 already?
     
  2. ben223

    ben223
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was it Channel 5? Cos I've noticed that too.. but only when recording from that channel.
     
  3. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yep, channel 5. Although I've recorded it the last 4 weeks too and it hasn't happened before.
     
  4. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +160
    Actually the E85 gets the title from Teletext so it can work on an AV source. Although I've only found it to work with a non Sky digital receiver and an analogue satellite receiver as I don't have an aerial connected either.

    Maybe there are changes at Five? A good move if so.
     
  5. Tellyfiend

    Tellyfiend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    That would solve the bain of my recording life - having to name each recording
     
  6. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    I know how you feel.

    Strange that you can record the title on the old danalog system but not on the digital!
    I would of thought that it would be asy for broadcasters to do.

    An even better optin woul dbe to record the info on the programme too.
     
  7. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I didn't think the teletext signal was carried through sky digital.

    Normally automatic titling would indeed be a boon, but in this case I was numbering the episodes for archiving purposes, so I'll need to delete the title anyway!
     

Share This Page

Loading...