1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange clock problem with DV27A

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by pringtef, Dec 1, 2003.

  1. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +72
    SW Version 4.12.0/LT76/02/FF
    Mech FW LT76

    I am experiencing an unusual problem that I have only noticed when playing CDs on the DV27A. Basically, the time indicator seems to be erratic.

    One symptom is that the display may be counting the time, and then at one point drop back one second, as though it's gone too fast or something.


    e.g. 01:21 (1 min and 21 seconds)
    01:22 (1 min and 22 seconds)
    01:21 (1 min and 21 seconds)

    Another symptom is when it may all of a sudden display a complete different time

    e.g. 01:21 (1 min and 21 seconds)
    01:22 (1 min and 22 seconds)
    22:46 (22 min and 46 seconds!!!)
    01:23 (1 min and 23seconds)

    There is no break in the music whatsover, no skipping, and no audible deterioration.

    This happens with all my CDs, even ones just bought out of the shop. It may only happen once or twice in any song, but it's just a bit annoying.

    I have not noticed this problem playing any DVD media.

    Has anyone else experienced this at all?
     
  2. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I get this with some DVDs as well as CDs, but with DVDs it can cause the entire movie to pause whilst it does this.

    My guess is that it is error correction, but that's a guess.

    StooMonster
     
  3. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,859
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +393
    I get this too ... since upgrading to 4.12 s'ware ... had more pressing things to sort out though and guess it'll be fixed in the next upgrade ... fingers crossed ...

    Jon
     
  4. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get this but only on DVD-A's where the system is all over the place, plus navigation is eratic, the front panel controls don't work and the top level menu is sometimes impossible to get to!!!

    I'm running software 2.18.34

    Regards
    John
     
  5. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    I get that with some DVDs on my DV88. I wondered if it was because of PAL speedup or something?
     
  6. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    I reckon the reason I have never noticed this (I am 4.12.0 DV88+) is beacuse always turn the display off :)

    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...