strange behaviour when hooking screen to optoma gt1080 12v trigger

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by indgirl6, Jun 11, 2015.

1. indgirl6

indgirl6
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all, i am a newbie when it comes to home theater. We finished our basement and did a home theater setup. I am using the optoma GT1080 projector and an Elite Spectrum 84 inch electric screen. I am trying to use the 12v trigger function so that the screen comes down when PJ is turned on and retracts when PJ is turned off.

the screen has an ethernet port and uses a standard rj45 cable and the PJ has the 3.5mm jack for the trigger port.

well i did the connections and nothing happens when i turn the PJ ON / OFF. however, if the screen is down, and i power OFF the projector (nothing happens), then if i remove the 12v trigger (on either the PJ side or the screen side) and then connect it back in, the screen senses the trigger and retracts automatically. this only happens when the screen is down and i OFF the PJ, it does not work the otherway round when screen is up and projector is ON.

can some one advice what i should do? i Called Elite and they are trying to sell me some IR stuff which is very expensive

2. zonedetector

zonedetector
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    Try reversing your wiring, it sounds like you have the up and down reversed. Also make sure that in the projector menu the 12V Trigger is switched to on.

3. zonedetector

zonedetector
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    Where you based ? if its local I would bob by and sort it for you.

4. indgirl6

indgirl6
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your response. i am not sure what you mean by reverse the wiring, how do i do that?