Stop me, please.....

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Clarky, Jul 22, 2004.

1. Clarky

Clarky

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to this and have been lurking unseen in these fora for a few months preparing to spend about £1300 on my first pj. The information and opinions expressed have been very helpful to me.
    I'll probably get flamed for this, and apologies to all the UK retailers who read this forum, but I couldn't help noticing that generally prices in the US more or less match the UK prices dollar to pound. So, my question is this- could 'one' successfully purchase a projector in the USA, ship it to the UK and get warranty cover? Would it be worthwhile, after paying duty, shipping and insurance? Has anyone done it? Would it survive the journey, or would I end up with a box of themescene cornflakes?
    To make a start, I know of a US internet company that will ship to the UK, and Infocus, at least, have told me they will honour the warranty if the machine is registered here.
    Well, what I'd like to hear, and I hope you won't disappoint me, are reasons not to do it... post sales service, incompatability etc...or any killer fact I've not thought of that makes it unfeasible. Otherwise, I might just give it a go.
    Please, stop me.
    Kind regards
    Clarky

2. redrocket

redrocket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i wanted my projector as cheap as possible but i also wanted good service. There is quite a lot of complexity in a projector installation.

if the projector does have a fault or is damaged on arrival or does not suit your purposes how much hassle would it be to return it?

Your money and your choice but don't expect any help from a UK dealer.

3. inzaman

inzaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,029