1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sticky Door DVD 32R

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Graham Bowes, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. Graham Bowes

    Graham Bowes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, new to this so here goes.

    The door to my DVD player is not opening properly. Makes whirring noise, zzzt,zzzt,zzzt (you get the drift) and then needs a gentle push with my finger. More often than not it will go back under it's own steam.

    I am trying to avoid sending it back to get it fixed - time & money. Anyone out there with a good idea ? Followed the manual and turned it off and back on again with the button, no difference :-(

    Cheers

    Graham
     
  2. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Graham,

    How old is your DVD32R? As you probably know the DVD32R has an adaptive door mech. Don't you notice any improvement after opening and closing for a few times? As soon as you turn the DVD off by powerbutton, it falls back to default doorspeed, which may not be enough hence you have to help it the first (two) times.

    Do you have the doorprofile set to A or B?
     
  3. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    Graham:

    1. I have a similar but opposite problem... mines opens easily but "refuses" to close. I too am living with it as the prospect of sending it back to the UK is not attractive.

    2. I have not read the manual in a long time. Can you please let me know what it says to do.

    TIA,

    Joel
     
  4. Matt192

    Matt192
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. Where do you set the door profile??
     
  5. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi, first of all the door profile was invented for DVD32R's with the latest door version. Since this runs pretty smooth, the door was closed too hard with the normal (profile A) speed. Thus Tag programmed a profile B, which provides less force to close the door.

    If you have the older door version, you can only use profile A. Normally you unit would be set to this. If the door doesn't close anyway, it has no use to set it to B.
    At the moment I can't look up which buttons to press during startup to set the profile, and get back to this tonight. However, if you do a master reset, it falls back to A anyway and you know for sure that the unit is not using profile B. (Although it's not likely that it was set to B by accident, since you have to do some serious fingerstretching buttonpressing)

    But my guess is that you have older door mech, which needs to be upgraded to work flawlesly.
     
  6. DanielB

    DanielB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi all, i found this in my "TAG-collection"

    To select the profile, hold down the display and open/close buttons whilst powering up the unit. The VFD will show

    PROFILE
    [A]skip- skip+

    with the currently selected profile (A or B) shown in the top left corner of the VFD. Press skip+ or skip- to select the profile. A is the current profile, B is the new "smooth" profile . If you change the profile, wait for the player to finish its initialisation (i.e. get to the point it shows "no disc"), then switch power off and back on - you MUST cycle the power after changing the profile for correct operation.
     
  7. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi Daniel,
    real tip from one of the "profis" :)

    Nice to see you here again! I have actually been searching for your address recently ...
    Please could you drop me your last ProntoNG file to: ... @ ........... at

    MfG aus Wien
    Miron
     
  8. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3

    Yep, this is the one! Now you know why I mentioned you have to do some serious fingerstretching buttonpressing :) .
     
  9. DanielB

    DanielB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hallo Miron
    :hiya:
    The file is on it's way ...

    Grüsse aus Wädenswil
     
  10. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +50
    Thanks,
    I am, as usual, too lazy to employ my brain creating my own layout, so I always use your files (slightly corrected) :)
     
  11. christoph

    christoph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liechtenstein
    Ratings:
    +3
    hallo danielB

    sorry for OT:

    grüsse aus liechtenstein :)

    ps: ich habe schon gedacht, dass ich der einzige verrückte in unserer gegend bin...
     
  12. Graham Bowes

    Graham Bowes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all and thank you for your help.

    Tried the Door Profile thing and did not get the display described above so guess I have an older model.

    Tried opening and closing many times and it is working now - wonder if it will stay working or if the temperature drops below the 30 degrees it is today in London then it will stick again.

    Anyway I am delighted to find this forum, missed the old one on the TAG site. The kit is amazing and makes me smile each time I use it. Hope the new owners pick up where the TAG left off.

    Cheers and thanks again for the help.

    Graham
     
  13. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Graham,

    Remember if you turn the completely off with the powerbutton, you have to learn it again. BTW, what software version do you have?
     
  14. Graham Bowes

    Graham Bowes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Version 3.70. Kids have been (re)warned not to touch !
     
  15. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Always a very good idea with a DVD32R! :D
     
  16. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Speaking of sticky things !

    Any ideas howto cure a sticky volume knob on a av32r. Mine seems to turn 3/4 of a rotation then gets stuck.. you can feel it grinding slighty against something... and then its free again for another rotation ?

    It would be a £100 roundtrip bill if I sent it in.. (but if I was getting it upgraded for the DACS/bypass then they said they would fix it for free whilst they had it :) )

    Its not much of a hassle as most of the time I use the remote.. but just wondered incase there was a easy solution ? If I gently ease the knob in the opposite direction its seems to ease a bit.. but I don't want to break it ? Is there anything I can check by popping off the lid ? (Its not under warranty so no issues there !)

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  17. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +187
    Matt i have had this on three of my AV32R's the volume knob is foulling the aluminium front panel just exert a little pressure upwards on the knob when it gets stuck to allow the unit to be as good as new.


    Ps little disclaimer this info was given to me by tma helpdesk so please no come back on me although only a LITTLE pressure is needed.
     
  18. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    The helpdesk did mention easing it to see if that made a difference... but I was not 100% sure which way to go as I could not exactly feel where the fouling was taking place.. so I will try "up" tonight..

    Thanks

    Matt

    P.S no probs.. all advice taken as is :)
     
  19. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Hmm made a small difference.. but in a couple of turns its sticking again.. must need more correction than a simple push....

    Thanks

    Matt
     
  20. jbm007

    jbm007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question for Steve Harris.

    Can DVD 32r be modified to work manually with the software of the 32R?
    Take the belt out and manually open and close the door. It appears that the door problem is more wide spread than thought. Any interlinks that have to be by-passed?
    Thnik it could work?
     

Share This Page

Loading...