Stewart samples and comparisons

howieeb

Prominent Member
Reaction score
For anyone who's interested, I finally got some Stewart screen samples yesterday and spent much of last night comparing them with other samples from Beamax, Carada, and diy paint samples. Warning, I have no measuring tools or knowledge when it comes to doing this properly!

First of all, the Studiotek material looks great. I told myself i'd never spend this kind of money on a white screen (it's just white! how hard can that be?) but now have doubts. If I had no plans to move in next 10 years and had a nice caved room, this would in the post right now. Brightness wise it is clearly and rather considerably brighter than the Beamax 1.5 material and the Carada BW. Infact, the Beamax material next to it looks like grey screen material. If the 1.3 gain reading for Studiotek is accurate - which apparently it is - then the other materials i've 'tested' are certainly less. Oddly enough, my current diy screen - cheapo primer - comes closest to the Studiotek in brightness. I also noticed the material surface vanishes completely with the Studiotek. It's hard to explain how this differs from the other samples - I can't see the material with these either - but when side by side with the Studiotek I don't get the sensation that there is no surface being projected on (possibly due to the extra gain?). All in all, very nice (which it should be for the price!).