1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stereo Headphones Vs. Surround Headphones

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Autopilot, Apr 1, 2005.

1. Autopilot

Autopilot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    I'm in the market for some decent headphones and i am thinking of getting some surround headphones. Mainly for gaming and music, but also for the odd movie. I have never tried any but I am worried that they will be too bulky and most I have seen look a bit tacky - is the quality there?. Also how good exactly do they sound? do you think they are worth buying or should I just get some decent stereo ones?

I'm a headphone newbie, so what are a few decent sourround and stereo models worth looking at?

2. Dr_Mike

Dr_Mike

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    The headphones themselves in a surround headphone set are not really any different from normal stereo ones. What is different is the digital processing done "upstream" to create the illusion of surround sound.

http://www.dolby.com/consumer/technology/headphone.html

If your gaming is PC based then I think you can get software which will do the Dolby processsing creating the surround effect with any stereo headphones. The only all-in surround phones I know about are not cheap (£200 to £300) but they combine the surround processing with cordless digital transmission. Pioneer, Philips, Sony and probably others do them. If you search this forum for those brands you should find plenty of stuff.

Hope this helps.

3. akerman

akerman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get a stereo set.. you'll get much better sound quality for the price. Surround sound does not really work well in headphones, because the drivers are too close to each other to create real surround.

4. Carl Ed

Carl Ed
    Standard Member

Products Owned: