1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stereo amp for less than £250

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by sceptic, Apr 22, 2003.

  1. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +20
    My shortlist is reducing. In fact I intended buying yesterday but forgot that Richer Sounds had closed at 4.
    Anyway, I’ve eliminated the Rotel RA01 as it has no remote and I feel that an extra £100 can’t be justified for the RA02.
    The new Marantz PM7200 was a hot favourite but unfortunately is too big to fit my rack.
    So I’m left with
    NAD C350 (£230 at Richer)
    For - got all that I need. I don’t want a phono stage.
    Against - looks and Tone controls I don’t want.

    Question - I don’t understand the stuff about the pre and power amps being separate. Will this be of any benefit when I connect the amp to my Marantz SR5200 AV amp?

    Marantz PM6010KI (£200 at Richer)
    For -–looks and no tone controls
    Against - a phono stage I don’t want.

    I’m using Mission 771e fronts.

    Auditioning is difficult so I rely to a large extent on the views in this forum.

    Any advice or help on making the right decision will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +474
    With the separate pre and power amp sections on the C350, you can attach a separate source selection switch and put the pre-outs from your AV amp directly into the power amp section, rather than having to go through an Aux input - most significantly in use this means you won't need to reset the C350's volume for AV use.

    Vikki
     
  3. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks Vikki .
     
  4. gilmore

    gilmore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sceptic... The NAD does have a source direct button which bypasses the tone controls

    Vikki... can you recommend any good quality source selection switch boxes?!
     
  5. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    http://www.audiovisiononline.co.uk have graded c350's for £209 (usually an as-new, ex-demo unit with new packaging, remote etc) and new ones for £219.

    Great amp for the money. :)

    MuFu.
     
  6. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +20
  7. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +474
    I would start with the QED boxes ... never used their line level selectors but have found their speaker selectors good with £3-500 amps.

    Sceptic ... that box isn't quite what required ... that switches 2 amps betwwn 1 set of speakers ... whats needed is 2 phono inputs to 1 phono outputs - http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/Product_ID/452 is what you want.

    Vikki
     
  8. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.
    I'm still not absolutely sure how they function but I'll try to look at one in a stockist.
    Cheers
     
  9. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +20
    Vikki
    Sorry to resurrect this but I'm unclear about the connections.
    I've got the the NAD 350 AUX connected to the pre outs of the A/V amp which gives the level problem switching between CD and other as discussed above.
    So, with the switching box, what are the connections between NAD, AV amp and Switching boxes?
    Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...