1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Static noise from loewe tv

Discussion in 'TVs' started by tjhooker, Sep 28, 2005.

1. tjhooker

tjhooker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: My loewe aventos has just started to make a loud static type noise from the rear part of the tv, quite loud, and changes intensity (or disappears) when the picture on the tv changes.

Is this serious or anything I can do to sort it? TV is 2 and half years old.

Thanks for any help.

2. celestica

celestica

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi tjhooker im new at this so dont know to much about forums but as regards the loud static noise if you havent found out yet heres my attempt
    the problem could be due to the crt tube connnector which is plugged into the back of the screen it come from the line output transformer if you take the back off and then switch on you may see arcing going around the tube (this is best seen in a darkish room) the cure for this is to switch off and leave it for a day or two (the longer the better safety wise) so that any remaining high voltages in the tube will dissapate
    (1) remove the cap that is attached to the tube (fiddly)
    (2) get some surgical spirits and a cloth
    (3) wipe all around the area where the eht cap fits making sure that is clean when your finished. also clean the cap with spirits
    (4) then get some vaseline and put a good amount of it on the cap so that when you reinsert the cap into the tube it squashes out at the side
    (5) clean up any excess around the cap
    ( 6) now switch on ....
    tj hope this helps

3. JayCee

JayCee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    If it's a high frequency piercing type noise that varies with picture content it's likely to be a "singing" inductor (coil) or transformer laminations vibrating.