1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Static/Dynamic IP Addresses

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by stephenc, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. stephenc

    stephenc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +378
    Does it make any difference when signing up to a broadband provider if they provide static or dynamic IP addressing?

    I'm looking at setting a wired/wireless router for use with XBL and two laptops, and jsut wondering if this wouldhave any impact at all.

    Thanks,

    Stephen.
     
  2. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    hiya :)

    i don't think so...i'm pretty sure the main use of having a static ip over a dynamic one is for hosting. so if you hosted your own site etc. then you'd need to pay the extra to do so. but for most peeps [myself included :)] a dynamic should suffice



    hope that helps
    monsieurblack
     
  3. stephenc

    stephenc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +378
    thanks, this is what I thought, but always best to check.

    I'll not be hosting my own website.

    So, looks like dynamic IP addressing is the way forward the :clap:

    SJC
     
  4. balders

    balders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
  5. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    yup

    sorry should have included that link :cool: adsl guide is great for all your 'connection' needs :)

    its where i headed to choose my isp [that reminds me...can't be long til i get connected now :D]




    top banana
    monsieurblack
     
  6. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Only problem (if you can call it one) is that if you play online games with a mate regularly - every time you play you have to tell them your new IP rather than having it stored
     
  7. monsieurblack

    monsieurblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +5
    yeah

    didn't think 'bout that :suicide:...but when i used to play games online it was only ever by jumping on to someone elses host and not 'arranged' as such so it never actually effected me, but great point and one i hadn't even considered :eek:






    thank you
    monsieurblack
     
  8. stephenc

    stephenc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +378
    but, would this only be an issue if you were playing games peer to peer via PC's....yeah?

    I was only thinking of playing via XBox Live, so dynamic IP's shouldn't be a problem...no??

    SJC
     
  9. Mr.The.Spoon

    Mr.The.Spoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I'm a Londoner.
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've just signed up with Plus.net for their 512KBit adsl. It's the home surf option that says you can play online games but they block p2p. Strange thing is they still give you a static ip.
    Does that mean I can host a website but can't get someone to connect directly to my machine for, say, a game of Counter Strike?
     
  10. Thrash

    Thrash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would imagine it's only certain ports they block so you should be ok hosting a game.
     

Share This Page

Loading...