starting from scratch

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dpc, Feb 4, 2003.

1. dpc

dpc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    just made my mind up to buy hs10 as long as demo is as good as a lot of people on this forum who now own say!!. I'm sure I won't be disappointed.
    My question is as I am starting from scratch my budget is in total £3K to buy pj (hs10) and everything else needed to give myself a decent or even brilliant cinematic and sound experience. i.e. dvd, amp,screen cabling, filters, the works.
    Can anyone help a real novice here :confused:
    Any imput will be greatly appreciated

2. benmc

benmc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi

I am not sure if you are going to be able to do it for £3000 in total, the HS10 and screen will come to about £2500. That leaves only £500 to do Amp, Speakers, DVD and cables.

I would have thought

Receiver £500
    DVD £200
    Speakers £500
    Cables £120

So I would have thought that you were looking at spending about £3500.

IMHO it would be a shame to ruin such a good projector with cheaper Amp DVD and speakers.

Any ideas anyone?

Ben

3. NeilMcRae

NeilMcRae

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    You could save on the amp buy picking up a second hand Sony 930 which is simply brilliant.

4. rogeralpine

rogeralpine
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    A grand on the rest of your system ain't much I'm afraid. You may be better off considering the AE100 at £899 and invest the rest on speakers, amp etc...Depends on what your priorities are though - if you are prepared to compromise and upgrade again in 6 months you may find a budget range acceptable in the short term.