Question Starting from scratch... Please Help!

Mitchapalooza

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello Folks,

I'll preface this by stating that I am a newbie to this forum, though have many years in professional audio. As a musician, sound tech and DJ, I could answer just about any question in regard to live pro audio, though I'm relatively new to the in-home systems and what the more favorable choices are. With Black Friday coming up, I see an opportunity to save on some Home Theater setups, though I'm at a complete loss as to which direction to head.
I am looking for components to install in my living room to pair with my 65" Vizio Smart TV. The room is fairly big, with the sectional sitting 15'+ from the TV. The left side of the room is open and goes into my pool room/parlor. I'm not concerned about the size of the speakers, merely sound quality and features. They will be for "Swiss Army" use including watching TV, movies, music, streaming, etc. I also have a couple of Buttkicker tactile transducers sitting around that I can utilize, so that should help out on the movie experience. I'd like to keep the spending right around a grand or less, though I would be willing to go higher for the right deal (or wait on certain components to build a better system).

I was looking at the Onkyo HTS-9400 THX system (refurb). From a cost point at $599, I don't think I'll be able to beat this feature-wise. With networking and the "future proofing" of 4k upscaling, it's tempting. I know how many audio nuts love HTiB's! Though, I know I may want more volume and it looks like the receiver and speakers are somewhat mismatched between 6ohm and 8ohm impedance - causing the system to be somewhat underpowered. As a guy that runs the brand new EV-ETX line pro audio, I'm not sure that I would be happy with the size of my living room.
ONKYO HT-S9400 THX 7.1 Ch Network Home Theater Receiver/Speaker | Accessories4less