Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Starter Systems Whats Best DD or Pro-logic II

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Bales1983, Jun 13, 2004.

1. Bales1983

Bales1983

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

Im just starting out in the world of home cinema, and am currently looking
    to purchase a basic starter surround kit from my catalogue, I am very aware
    that the two systems i am interested in are not up to everybodys standard,
    but hopefully someday ill beable to upgrade, My question is what is the
    difference between 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound and Dolby Pro-Logic II,
    I understand the prologic can convert 2.0 input to 5.1?? The two systems i
    am looking at are:

-
    Bush DVDAV14K

and

Goodmans HEC172

Is there any real difference between these two systems?? All of my dvd's are
    in Dolby Digital 5.1, are any DVD's made in Dolby Pro-logic or is it just to
    turn 2.0 to 5.1, will the HEC172, work with Dolby Surround 5.1??

Sorry to ask so many questions i hope someone can help me,

Best Regards
    and Many Thanks

Lee

2. thanley

thanley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Lee,
    There is a big difference between the two..
    Dolby PLII is still a 4.1 surround format.. ie you get 4 independant sound chanells.. you can get independant sound from the following chanels..
    Front Left, Centre, Front Right, Sub, the surrounds only output 1 chanel...

Dolby Digital is a 5.1 surround format.. ie independant sound from front left, centre, front right, sub, surround left and surround right..

You can not get 5.1 surround from a 2.0 input.. it has to be a digital input, be it optical or coax. the two systems you are looking at provide 5.1 and 4.1