Star Wars

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by whiskyboozer, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. whiskyboozer

    whiskyboozer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +69
    I want to play the port of Star Wars that came with Star Wars Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike (Gamecube version) on my wii.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    It should play as it was designed to play on the Gamecube. I have the US version of Rogue Squadron III on which IIRC you had to unlock the game. In the UK I think it came as a bonus separate disc. Why not try it for yourself and find out.
     
  3. whiskyboozer

    whiskyboozer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +69
    Anyone got a copy I would be happy to pay a resonable price for it.

    I was obsessed with the arcade version when I was a teenager
     
  4. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +666
    Can I confirm that both Rogue Squadron II and III play perfectly fine on the Wii (I have both).
     
  5. SFBanks

    SFBanks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    656
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dumbarton
    Ratings:
    +259
    I picked up a copy from my local gamestation for £2.99!
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    As far as I'm aware all Gamecube games work just fine on the Wii unlike the issues with backward compatibility on the 360 and PS3. I believe the Wii essentially has Gamecube tech inside it as opposed to using emulation.
     
  7. Brooktop

    Brooktop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +98
    I never had a NGC. What other things do you need to play on a Wii? A controller and a memory card?
     
  8. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Just a Gamecube controller and memory card.
     
  9. whiskyboozer

    whiskyboozer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +69
    What I'm interested in the the Atari Star Wars port that came with Rebel Strike. Tried ebay but when I ask buyers about it they are clueless!

    Help I wanna play Star Wars, vector grapics and all........
     
  10. whiskyboozer

    whiskyboozer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +69
    Thanks to everyone who replied. I managed to track down a copy from retrogames.co.uk
     
  11. whiskyboozer

    whiskyboozer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +69
    Further update- what i purchased was preview game of Rebel Strike, sadly it is NTSC version. Now thoroughly confused as i thought it was PAL regions that got the additional disc and NTSC regions had to unlock the Star Wars arcade game.


    Help
     
  12. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    there was no bonus disc with PAL Star Wars Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike discs..
    on that disc there is the option to play, Star Wars Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader, in co-op mulitplayer, but you miss 2 levels from the single player version.

    for unlocking the original arcade games on the US version of the game :

    enter these on the passcodes screen:
    RTJPFC!G / TIMEWARP - Unlocks Star Wars Arcade
    !H!F?HXS / KOOLSTUF - Unlocks The Empire Strikes Back Arcade Game
    !?ATH!RD GAME?YES - Unlocks Return of the Jedi Arcade Game

    or PAL

    Successfully complete the Triumph of Rebellion misson on any difficulty setting to unlock the Star Wars arcade game.

    Successfully complete all single player campaign missons to unlock the Empire Strikes Back arcade game.

    and i think, if i remember rightly(might be mistaken), that if you got gold on all levels, the ROTJ game was unlocked.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...