1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Star Wars:Flawed perfection?

Discussion in 'Star Wars Movies Forum' started by Jack the lad, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Just watched New Hope :thumbsup:

    Stunning transfer, 27 year old film, no way. Truely awesome transfer :)

    Points I picked up on are:

    1. The sound track is suppossed to be DD EX. But my Denon 3805 amp only gave me DD + PLII Cinema. No matter how much fiddling I did. :rolleyes:

    2. The sound seemed to drop out in a few scenes though. Some of the plain dialouge scenes seemed to be a littled muffled.

    3. A few effects scenes seemed to jump. Most noticable to me was in the Millenium Falcon when Luke does the Lightsaber training. when he turns it off there seems to be a weird jump.

    4. Some of the new, well introduced digital improvements dont seem to look right. Yeah know, they LOOK artificial, not like a real whatever they are called monster things look like :laugh: Check out the Moss Isley (?) scenes.

    Cannot waite for Empire tomorrow :)
     
  2. i-bert

    i-bert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +33
    The saber scene has always jumped i think.
     
  3. mugsy

    mugsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +20
    I seem to remember reading threads somewhere regarding the DD + PLII Cinema issue. Are you by chance running a 7.1 setup? If so, try setting the surround back speakers to 1 rather than 2 in the speaker setup menu.
     
  4. kwebbotaurus

    kwebbotaurus
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41

    You're right there, it's because they filmed the scene first with Hamil holding the lightsabre handle and then again with him holding the full prop (with the white reflective stick) lightsabre hence the jump. There's a jump anytime anyone switches on their lightsabre in A New Hope, suprised you didn't know!
     
  5. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    I am running a 7.1 setup. But all my other DD EX discs seem to work(flag) correctly :confused:

    Any ideas? :)
     
  6. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    your right about the jump,take a look the scene where obi wan ignites his saber when he meets vader,he jumps to the side a little,still think the jedi remote scene on the falcon is strange,whu kis lukes saber white/green and not blue?
     
  7. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +136
    All except Vader's, his is a really slow ignition - which is why he is cool.
     
  8. mugsy

    mugsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hmmmm, maybe the Star Wars discs don't have the EX flag but all your other discs do. Does the surround back channel light up on the input signal set of LEDS (the ones on the left of the amp?)
     
  9. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Got it sorted now :clap:

    The amp detects EX when the THX promo comes on but then resets itself when the film comes on to DD + PLII :confused: For some reason I have to switch the Auto flag off. And that cures it :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...