Standard HDMI Cable works on 3D??

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by alasone, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. alasone

    alasone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hi guys,

    Just treated us all to a brand new 3D TV. LG Passive 54 series something or other.....

    The 15m cable I bought 2 years ago I presume is 1.3???
    Anyway, just went on eBay and purchased a standard cheap 1.4 at 15m.

    But just put the TV on the wall and plugged the installed cable from 2 years ago in. 3D Works perfectly????

    Any help as to why??
     
  2. alasone

    alasone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +62
    I should say the source is SKY 3D.
    Not tried the BD Player yet....

    This has baffled me.
     
  3. HDC James

    HDC James
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    Sky 3D is not as high a data bandwidth as Blu-ray 3D content.

    You dont need a special or new (mis-labelled) '1.4' cable for 3D. Just a High Speed cable.

    Many '1.3' cables offer high speed performance anyway.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,231
    There is no ‘special’ internal re-wiring of the HDMI cable required for 3D – it’s simply down to the bandwidth your cable can pass.

    With a decent gauge 15m cable you can achieve 3D without any special electronics – though you can’t guarantee it.

    HDMI.org advise you to use a High Speed cable for 3D – though it’s not mandatory and they also then make it impossible for anything over 8m to pass the High Speed test unless its amplified!

    HDMI :: Manufacturer :: HDMI 1.4 :: 3D

    Hopefully you’ll be OK with 3D from the BD Player too!

    Joe
     
  5. alasone

    alasone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +62
    Thanks chaps. Hope it works with the BD player too. Although wasted money on a new cable by the looks of it..!
     
  6. freddie5

    freddie5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +260
    I have just ordered a Panasonic 42GT30 and blu-ray bundle, and i have been reading about the need for high speed HDMI cables.
    I was lucky enough to purchase some of those incorrectly packaged QED ones, Classic box - Performance cable??, from Tesco recently, so my question is this - are they good enough to support 3D??

    Thanks.
     
  7. HDC James

    HDC James
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    If they are under 5m then yes probably
     
  8. freddie5

    freddie5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +260
    Yep, 1 metre.
     
  9. HDC James

    HDC James
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240
    Very good chance that it will then.
     
  10. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,391
    3d Blu-ray is 2x1080px24fps. Multiply this out and you will see that it is less bandwidth than a 2D 1080p signal at 60fps.

    So , is there any kind of special HDMI cable needed for 3 D? No there is not.

    All long cables may have problems due to the inherent attenuation problem, but this is not specifically a 3 D issue.
    Short cables are likely to pass any signal you can throw at them ,regardless of what rating it has.
     
  11. skyjuice

    skyjuice
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice