SSD in Sky Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by RedSea, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. RedSea

    RedSea
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Winchester, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Given how much the cost of SSD's have come down in recent years does anyone know a retailer that sells new Sky boxes with an SSD fitted, I'd like one due to the increased speed, reduced noise and reliability. Even sat 5 metres away form my Sky box I can still hear the SATA hard drive sometimes
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    A Sky machine should be silent, and no-one invalidates the guarantee AFAIK.
    If you're a subscriber and don't have the current machine I recommend getting one free.
     
  3. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Not sure how it would speed anything up, boot time maybe. The cost of an SSD is still roughly double the cost of a standard SATA drive
     
  4. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    There won't be much, if any, speed increase as the OS doesn't run from disk. They are not designed for SSDs so wouldn't support TRIM and would get slower over time.

    No spinning drive is silent but some are better than others. Swapping the drive is an easy DIY job.
     
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +11,856
    It is important to remember the live pause buffer is running continuously, I don't know how this will affect the SSD.
     
  6. AsinineMonkey

    AsinineMonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Neither should be a concern with modern SSDs that handle GC properly. The false belief that "it must support TRIM" for an SSD to be of benefit really needs to disappear:

    http://www.thessdreview.com/daily-n...ion-and-trim-in-ssds-explained-an-ssd-primer/
     

Share This Page

Loading...