1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SS song editing?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Death By Saints, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. Death By Saints

    Death By Saints
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I'm not sure if this is in the correct forum so appoligies if it is not.
    I just tried to rip Placebo's WYIK cd to my drive using SS, the last track is over 22mins long (6mins of music and alot of blank space). How do I remove this blank space as it would become annoying?
    Can I do it with SS or do I need some other software? (I have Nero 6 if it helps).
    Thanks
    DBS
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    If you've got the full version of Nero6 you can edit sound files with that and chop out the stuff you don't want at the end (use the Nero Wave Editor). I've never used SS so can't comment on if you can do anything with it.
     
  3. Death By Saints

    Death By Saints
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for that.
    I used Nero 6 to copy the song onto my hard drive in WAV format.
    I then used the wave editor (for the first time ever) and deleted the excess space.
    Then imported it into Sonic Stage.
    Converted it to my favorite Atrac+256 format.
    Renamed the file and relocated it to the cd it came from.
    A laborious task for such a simple thing but I really learnt a lot.
    Thanks for the pointer JohnG.
    DBS
     
  4. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Brno
    Ratings:
    +9
    You can split (and therefore chop bit's off) tracks in SS as long as they are in the ATRAC format - highlight your track, click edit and select divide... would probably have been a bit easier than what you went through!
     
  5. Death By Saints

    Death By Saints
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh!
    Thanks for that Hrochnick.
    I'm not bitter because I was glad of the knowledge but I'll definitely try that next time.
    I'm used to Openmg from my minidisc days and am just ripping my cd's waiting for my Hd3 to arrive.
    Sonic stage seems a hell of a lot more stable to me than it used to be in it's other incarnation.
    But, time will tell when the Hd3 is connected.
    Cheers
    DBS
     
  6. Death By Saints

    Death By Saints
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried it.
    Boy how quick and easy is that?
    Must remember that one.
    DBS
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    That's a plus point for SS there as you can't do that on iTunes ! With iTunes you have to tell it to stop playing at a particular point and so the whole track is still on your hard disk and taking up valuable space. I know, because I had the same problem with the exact same track that you did :D
     
  8. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you can, John. Once you've set your start and stop times in the Get Info dialog box, just highlight the track in the Library and choose Convert Selection to... from the Advanced menu. iTunes creates the track in whatever format is set in the Importing tab of the Preferences. You end up with the original (in whatever format it is) and the edited track in its format.
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    Blimey, you live and learn ! So in theory can you convert it to be the same as what it is already ..... if that makes sense !
    Thanks for that tip, I ended up not putting these sorts of tracks on as they took up too much space.
     
  10. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +63
    That, and iPod can go to any point in a track in seconds. Whereas the Sony needs to be fast forwarded. SS editing features are useful and simple, but the hardware falls flat on it's face for long tracks.
     
  11. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, or any other format/quality/sample rate/channels in the process.
     

Share This Page

Loading...