1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SS 3.1 for HD3?

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by meddyliol, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. meddyliol

    meddyliol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    :clap:

    Does anyone know if the SonicStage 3.1 software will work with the HD3? I would assume that it does but one never knows does one.

    Is the HD3 as good as they say? I am returning my HD5 because of crack problems.

    :devil:
     
  2. Inter

    Inter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    SS 3.1 works with the HD3

    I got a HD3 and I'm completely satisfied.
     
  3. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hell yes, if you can get past ss its awsome!
     
  4. tottycs

    tottycs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you dont like SS (as all of us dosent do) you shoud try downloading "VAIO music transfer". that is a program who you just "drag and drop" :D god luck :p
     
  5. sbradnam

    sbradnam
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    3.1 is much better - less prone to crashes, and a bit more user-friendly. Still room for improvement - NB SONY!!! - but it is better than 2.3. Remember, the SS software is essentially resident on your PC, not your HD3. Oh, and my HD3 is excellent.

    Go for it! :thumbsup:
     
  6. briankai

    briankai
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would try to use the Vaio tool instead... I don't know what special version of SonicStage some of these guys have, but mine (which is allegedly the latest version) can barely display the library without crashing.

    Kai
     
  7. JJ VDUB

    JJ VDUB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vaio music transfer. Will this allow you to load CDs and transfer to your HD3 without using sonic stage at all? (I know you still need SS installed for the various components).. what version of SS do you need?
     
  8. Fanboy

    Fanboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a HD3 and am running SS 2.3, which crashes often.

    I recently got an email from Sony offering me an upgrade to SS3.1 but didn't list the HD3 in the list of hardware it would run with, which scared me off. Can anyone confirm:

    1. NW-HD3 works with SS 3.1
    2. Can I 'upgrade' 2.3 to 3.1 without having to load my music library again.
    3. Can I upgrade to 3.1 without having to initialise my HD3 and thus load all my music back onto it.
     
  9. CSB-260

    CSB-260
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Loading the library on 3.1 is so much better anyway
     
  10. loser

    loser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As everyone says, Vaio music transfer is sooo much easier. definitely more than halfed the time to put on all my songs
     
  11. Fanboy

    Fanboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So with this VAIO music transfer, can I ditch Sonic Stage and use this instead? How does it work/where do i get it?

    Still want to know pros/cons of upgrading to SS3.1 with a NW-HD3
     
  12. CSB-260

    CSB-260
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trouble is with VAIO Music Transfer is, as far as I can see, only available with a VAIO product, unless there's a site I haven't found
     
  13. dowlinmp

    dowlinmp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. emqav

    emqav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    SonicStage 3.1 is compatible with ALL nw-hd models as well as with ALL other network walkman's from Sony and also with the Vaio Pocket Player !
    I'm using my NW-HD3 with SonicStage 3.1 and it works just great.
     
  15. Fanboy

    Fanboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Marvellous - thanks emqav!

    Got it! Cheers! :smashin: So should I keep SonicStage even if I install this VAIO software?
     
  16. tomiwolf

    tomiwolf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i updated ss 2.3 to 3.1 and after the update it takes some time - about 15 minutes - till ss recognizes the player. anyone got the same problem?
     
  17. Fanboy

    Fanboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installed SS3.1 last night. No problems. Plugged in HD3 and SS picked it up straight away.
     

Share This Page

Loading...