1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sreenplay 4805 or Optoma H30

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by bigfluff, Jan 19, 2005.

1. bigfluff

bigfluff

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all

Firstly congrats on a really nice well organised forum - good to see a forum that actually gets 'looked' after.

My question to you all is a question im sure you have all been asked before at some stage - which projector!

Currently I have an Infocus X1 projector and a 84" screen. I am resonably happy with the X1 but the occasional rainbows and not native 16:9 is starting to annoy me a little.

I yesterday went out and looked at the Optoma H30 and the Screenplay 4805 and liked both units but the people that showed me the units really had no idea after checking the menus both units were on factory default settings and when i started playing the guy took the remote off of me and said "Hey what are you doing you cant play around with the settings" and unfortunatly these guys ar the only ones that sell both projectors in Perth.

So I am after your opinions - both projectors are nearly the same price. My room has a bit of ambient light but its mainly used at night.

Thankyou in advance

Mike

2. Oakleyspatz

Oakleyspatz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +231
    The Optoma was probably the best budget DLP projector money could buy right up until the 4805 came onto the market !
    The 4805 is marginally better than the H30 and wins with a native widescreen panel, better Faroudja video processing and contrast. The H30 wins on price. If you're after the best, buy the 4805. If you want the best bargain, buy the H30. I'm sure you'll be pleased with either, but the 4805 is better for movies........just.

3. Bristol Pete

Bristol Pete

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +321