Squeezebox keeps cutting out

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by tigermad, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +543
    I have a wireless squeezebox with the new slim server software. The problem is when I am playing my mp3s it keeps cutting out. The signal strength says around 70% so this cannot be the problem. Has anyone got any ideas to help?
     
  2. Mike-M

    Mike-M
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +39
    I had the same problem. The only way I managed to solve it was to hard wire it.
     
  3. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +543
    I have just bought a brand new wireless netgear router/modem too :rolleyes:
     
  4. Mike-M

    Mike-M
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +39
    So did I. But as you say the signal strenght was fine but it still skipped. Is it on all images or just the odd one. If it's the odd one you could try renewing that image.
     
  5. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Has it got the latest firmware? I use to have a Netgear MR314 wireless router/AP that did the same. I eventually hardwired it.

    However, when I was configuring my inlaws Belkin router and new PC, I noticed how much more reliable this was for basic internet browsing than when browsing with my Netgear AP. His new PC was even unreliable when attached to my router. Further investigation revealed a known issue with the Netgear AP and updated firmware. This resolved the problem and I ran my squeezebox under wireless again on the Netgear AP until I eventually upgraded to a 54g router which I still run now and all is fine.

    -Ian
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice