Spyware problems !

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by richjthorpe, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    My Father in Law has 2 computers (Laptop and Desktop) that are conected to a router which is then connected to broadband. The router has all the firewalls and pop-up blockers selected.

    But still he gets the spyware installed onto both computers. I've used Adaware to clean them both a couple of times before but they keep coming back.

    I tried once more to get rid of the spyware last night, but the Desktop was so slow that after completing the search and comiling the data, it stopped and the Laptop stopped completely when it hit the 45,000 mark (Normally c120,000).

    The router has stopped connecting to the internet now so I can't get and update from the website.

    Can someone suggest:

    1. A piece of software to download an completely clean his computers.
    2. A piece of software to the will protect his system from Spyware. Currently Yahoo doesn't seem to be bothered doing anything.
    3. A website that tell you about router settings. I've had the router connected before but it seems to drop out every now and again. It's one from Maplins that cost about £70.

    Thanks,

    Richie.
     
  2. Grumble

    Grumble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    17
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    St. Andrews, Fife
    Ratings:
    +83
    Hi Richie

    I use Webroot Spy Sweeper to protect my system.
    http://www.webroot.com/

    I also find my router drops the ADSL connection occassionally, I think this due to BT resetting my broadband connection (usually done in the small hours).
    You should be able to set the router to re-connect automatically, when this happens.

    Have you tried the router manufacturer's website for details on how to set it up?
     
  3. Tupo

    Tupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +146
    I too use webroot spysweeper.
    Without a doubt the best spyware solution there is.
    And for virus protection try NOD32.

    With both nod and sweeper you will have no problems :smashin:
    And that is coming from someone that used to be inundated with spyware attacks etc.

    Now Im as safe as a fisherman with a johnny on :clap: :clap:
     
  4. Ken

    Ken
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. jon stallard

    jon stallard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your father in law should also switch to Mozilla Firefox as his browser. This is almost as good as a decent spyware program. Another good program is Prevx. http://www.prevx.com/ It's another free jobbie. Read what it says it does on the website.
     
  6. mrwhippyrulez

    mrwhippyrulez
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thoroughly recommend the Microsoft AntiSpyware, even though it is currently only a Beta version. It has found and effortlessly removed spyware which other products, (inc Spybot), in my experience, either couldn't find or clean properly

    For free they don't come much better, it will also protect your system from further infection if you want it to.
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    The single most important prevention is not to use Internet Explorer or Outlook Express, use Firefox and Thunderbird and you'll likely never see a single piece of spyware.

    As for spyware removers, there's no single solution, they all miss some. M$ is at least free, but of course their interest should be writing software that's not vulnerable, not producing something to tidy up the mess they helped create in the first place.
     
  8. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +199
    Disable Java in his browser, use a browser which allows you to stop sites installing software automatically (firefox lets you specify this).
    I also use a proxy that disarms/modifies a large number of javascript 'baddies'.
    Set up a good hosts file on the PC (and keep it updated).
    Sweep for ads/virii/spyware/ regulary.
    Only allow cookies that want to be dropped on you.
    Keep all the above up to date.

    Securing and maintaining widoze is a PITA.
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    And of course ensure his system is patched up to date.

    For A/V I use NOD32, about the most reliable according to "Virus Bulletin" tests over several years.
     
  10. kolabere

    kolabere
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Actually, the "single most important prevention" KraGorn, is not to use Windows at all - critters in the woods just love the sweetness of Sequoia Sempervirens :devil: .

    Seriously though, I would try CWShredder to remove the parasites and then set-up IE-SpyAd.
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Switching to Linux or a Mac isn probably not an option. ;)
     
  12. kolabere

    kolabere
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
  13. Leporello

    Leporello
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perhaps I missed something but I'm not sure about about the Microsoft Antispyware beta. I have Adaware installed. When I run the Microsoft program nothing is found, if I then run Adaware it usually finds up to 20 items of spyware.
     
  14. sniffer66

    sniffer66
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    9,883
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,625
    I'd also recommend a local desktop firewall rather than relying on the router. Sygate is excellent and there is a free version
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice